National Poetry Month 2017

April is National Poetry Month, which got me thinking about my own work. Like many novelists, my writing began with poetry, something I started at the age of 12 and continued through my mid-20s. Then last year as I whittled down the hundreds of poems I’d written to the best 110 for a book, I was inspired to write some new ones. A few made it into the book, Dandelion Fuzz, while more have been hanging around, waiting for the next collection, which will again be a mixture of some old and some new.

While working on my current work in progress, the next Heart series novel, I’ve been toying around with the idea of going ahead and publishing the new poetry book. Should I, or shouldn’t I? I’m just not sure.

In the meantime, here is a poem from Dandelion Fuzz:


Chance

the odor of the porcupine erosion is bold

in its dreamy delicate.

distant flower regretting the loss of its glimmer.

he climbed on the back of a horse-trained toad,

defying his very words,

yet adapting to my past record of woes

and creeps in armor.

his teeth were a field of purple lilies

in the sky of a dormitory, unfolded.

he fired,

and I had no getaway ride.

pleading his vile, industrious and glamour.

love is a shame,

and I collapsed into his web of sinful and sinless.

the kiss was enough explanation,

and its duration,

short or long,

will be.


More poetry:

Two Choices #election #poetry

Turn #Poetry

Migraine #Poetry

Dusk on a Bench in College

Plastic Existence


D.M. Miller is the author of the interfaith “Heart” series as well as the poetry collection, Dandelion Fuzz and memoir, Half-Jew: Searching for Identity. The product of an interfaith marriage herself, Miller’s work explores the difficult themes of religion, politics, ethnicity, culture, family, ancestry and love. See her books on Amazon.

2 thoughts on “National Poetry Month 2017

Leave a Reply

