#Booksarenotfree

 

Why should brand new books be free, and why do many readers today feel this sense of entitlement? Most likely, it is due to those writers who started the trend of giving their books away, if only for a shot to be noticed. Now however, it has backfired, and everyone says, “Gimme, gimme, gimme!”

But authors are not selling some meaningless product, a piece of plastic manufactured in Taiwan; we are selling a work of art which took hundreds, if not thousands, of hours to write and polish, a creation streaming straight out of our souls. Our blood, sweat and tears are not worthless commodities. I honestly don’t understand the mindset which places a higher monetary value on a cup of coffee than on a book someone slaved over, a book which provides entertainment and sometimes even enlightenment for far longer than the duration of sipping that coffee. Frankly, I make my coffee at home and spend that money saved on books!

Author Maria Gibbs addresses this issue, and I encourage everyone to read the entire post. Gibbs, by the way, has written three novelettes, and I’ve read them all. They’re well worth the measly 99 cents each, more than that actually.

gibbsdream

There is a growing trend in society to believe that books should be free or heavily discounted and we have all been guilty of feeding into it. I pick up freebies but I am also happy to pay for the books I want. Maybe I can’t get all the ones I want but hey isn’t that just life? I see lots of clothes I like and I might be able to pick up a new dress for a special occasion or a new pair of jeans because my old ones have holes in where no self-respecting forty-something wants holes but I can’t buy every item that my heart desires. Certainly not on my non-existent income as an author. Just as well I have a full-time job that stops me from being a starving artist languishing in a garret with only bread and water to sustain me. My day-time job takes…

View original post 631 more words

One thought on “#Booksarenotfree

  1. For those wondering why I would post something like this when I’m guilty of giving away a free book myself (my poetry book last month), I did so as a test. It failed. Furthermore, the point of this article is not to judge anyone for picking up books offered for free, something I’m sure we all do, but to draw attention to the demanding attitude often coming our way from others who feel entitled to a free book. It does seem that people think all authors get a stack of free copies- we don’t. We pay for every copy we have, as the above article states.

    Like

Leave a Reply

