777 Challenge – Tag, I’m It! Who’s Next?

Oh, is that the wrong 777?
Oh, is that the wrong 777?

How many times have you gotten a ridiculous chain letter, imploring you to pass it along if you have any hope of fulfilling all your dreams in the next five minutes? When I was tagged in the 777 challenge, my first inclination was to ignore it like any other spam. This was different, however. I wasn’t tagged by some anonymous spammer, but by a fellow writer.

What in the world is it?

The 777 challenge may seem like a silly game, but it is actually meant to introduce readers to other blogs and other authors.

RULES: The taggee must go to the seventh page, to the seventh line, and share the next seven sentences of their latest work in progress or new book, etc. Then tag seven other authors to do the same.

I was tagged by J.A. Allen, whose bio reads:

“JA Allen is a blogger and the author of Old Souls, a contemporary fantasy following diagnosed schizophrenic Lucien Navarro as he realizes his ‘delusions’ were never delusions at all. Confronted with the truth of what he is, Lucien must face his inner demons, take a stand in a war that has raged behind the veil of human awareness for millennia, and fight for a love that transcends the boundaries of time.”

If you’ve never visited her blog, I would highly recommend it. She’s working on her first novel and writes about the process, something we all can relate to as writers.

As for this challenge, it really is uncomfortable to see just what exactly is written on page 7, out of context, but here it goes. This is from my work in progress, yet to be titled, and is the sequel to my debut novel, The Religion of the Heart:

Abdul was no idiot. The whole scene was unusual, and he knew his wife. Entering the apartment and shutting the door behind him, he gave her a funny look before gracing her with the standard kiss hello. She still got butterflies when he kissed her, even with a little peck like that.

“What’s up?” he asked her.

“What do you mean?” she responded innocently, her eyes gleaming.

“What do you mean, ‘what do I mean’? Something’s up. What is it?”


I really wish I could have shared some spectacularly written description of the sun bathing the earth below in a multi-hued reflection of our forgotten memories and retired bliss. But well, that wouldn’t be me!

Now for the tagging:

  1. Riley J. Froud:

Bio: “She started out writing serious stories until she realised that she just can’t keep a straight face and hence, a whole bunch of Underlings were born… go to Amazon to buy her first novella, John Sharpe: No. 1,348 to get dragged through an eye-rolling, jaw-flapping, thigh-slapping world of magic and mayhem. ”


  1. Rivka Spicer and Ivory Quinn:

Bio: “My name is Rivka and I am the best-selling author of several books… When I’m not writing or at work, I can usually be found either with my nose in a book, parked in front of an action movie or up in my workshop where I do textile art and jewellery making…”

For Rivka’s books on Amazon, click here.

Second Bio: “My name is Ivory. I too am a bestselling author!… I am an author of indeterminate youth, living in a land where the sun rarely shines but the mist makes everything magical. That would be Scotland. In fact, I live with Rivka in the far, frozen north…”

For Ivory’s books on Amazon, click here.


  1. Joel Hames:

Bio: “Joel Hames lives in rural Lancashire with his wife and two daughters, where he works hard at looking serious and pretending to be a proper novelist. Joel writes what he wants, when he wants to (which by coincidence is when the rest of the family choose to let him). His first novel, Bankers Town, was published in 2014, and The Art of Staying Dead followed in 2015.”

For Joel’s books on Amazon, click here.


  1. Maria Gibbs:

Bio: “I think I was about eight years old when I knew I wanted to be an author. I would tap away on an old typewriter; I was excited beyond belief when I got a new one for a birthday. I devoured books, head continually buried inside… “As Dream Are Made on” is the first short story I have in the public domain, followed up by “A Lifetime or a Season”…

For Maria’s books on Amazon, click here.


5. Kate Beth Heywood:

Bio: “Kate is the author of the comedy novel, Anti-Social Media which was inspired by the lovely trolls, bullies, and pedants who inhabit the world of social media… and a fantastically farcical Woody Allen movie (Italian tenor singing in a shower onstage, anyone?)
She is working on her second novel…”

For Kate’s book on Amazon, click here.


  1. Jo Roderick/Rodrigues:

Bio: “I’m just an average person with a story. Hopefully it will unravel and keep you reading…” He is the author of six books, including Six for Seven, a satirical comedy about South African politics, which I’m currently reading.

For Jo’s books on Amazon, click here.


  1. Elaine Chissick:

Bio: “After penning and self-publishing the successful true story, Willing and Able, explaining the sometimes heart-breaking process of adoption, I went back to the keyboard and began work on the romantic/erotic fiction, Ties That Bind, a story I admit, has been rattling around my head for the past twenty-something years.

For Elaine’s books on Amazon, click here.

One thought on “777 Challenge – Tag, I’m It! Who’s Next?

Leave a Reply

