Look for “The Religion of the Heart” Next Week!

My bougainvillea in the shape of a heart. Ok, it's corny, but I need a photo for the blog post on "The Religion of the Heart." ;-)
My bougainvillea in the shape of a heart. Ok, it’s corny, but I needed a photo for the blog post on “The Religion of the Heart.” 😉

By: D.M. Miller

Originally I had planned to put the book, The Religion of the Heart, up for sale on Amazon this week but have been hemming and hawing about it. The proof arrived, and I’ve been going through it slowly, all the while reading other books in the genre, comparing them to mine, reading book reviews, reading advice on writers’ blogs and seeing how critical fellow writers can be.

There are writing rules, many of which I break. But is that necessarily a bad thing? To be honest, I don’t think so.

“Show, don’t tell!”

“Use descriptive language!”

“Don’t use too much dialog!”

“Don’t use ‘it is’ or ‘there is’!”

Another writer’s blog reminded me of these rules. Well, my very first sentence is, “It was late…”

Then I opened up a novel on one of my bookcases. It was written by a New York Times bestselling author, and guess how the first sentence begins: “It was…” Hmm…

Still, I began thinking I should scrap the whole thing and start over, even after three regular, everyday readers all told me they loved it and zipped through it quickly. In my book, the reader isn’t bogged down with flowery language. It’s mostly straight and to the point. Simple. There is some drama mixed in along with strong emotions, but hey, it’s IS a romance after all!

One of the best pieces of writing I’ve read in a long time is a 36-page mini-novella called, The Jewish Neighbor, by A.M. Khalifa. He actually got some bad reviews for his writing and for the “simplicity” of the storyline. Wow. I was floored when I saw those reviews. The writing is good, and the simplicity makes it all the more powerful. Must everything be written like classical literature? Isn’t popular fiction supposed to be for entertainment? It’s called “pleasure reading,” and novels shouldn’t be something we have to suffer through to make heads or tails out of the perfectly designed poetic prose.

Maybe the critics are too harsh, and I should follow my heart. The thing is, many books blend together because they follow the rules to a T and all sound the same. Love my work or hate it, but no one can accuse me of not having my own voice.

So I think it’s time to take the plunge. After putting my dreams on hold for two decades, I’ve got to stop being a perfectionist, accept the fact that my writing is different and publish this thing once and for all.

Now I’m shooting for the upcoming week. I’ll keep everyone posted!

Please like my author page on Facebook and follow me on Twitter to stay up-to-date.

4 thoughts on “Look for “The Religion of the Heart” Next Week!

  1. That is awesome! Congrats! I’m so glad you decided to push forward with publishing. You will always have critics both good and bad and it will never be perfect. What you will have is the sense of accomplishment and just think about it… do you love it? Well, then… do you really have to make anyone else happy? So kick some butt, takes some names and I look forward to reading it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I can’t wait to send you a big congratulations.
    I am so excited to follow your book’s journey. If you feel confident enough to put your story out there, it must be ready. Go with your gut, and move on to the next project 🙂
    I wish you all the success you can handle!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jenny! Your blog has really helped me too, just knowing that other people struggle with some of the same issues. And in encouraging you, in turn, I’m building up my own courage. Frankly, I really believe in my book despite breaking some of these writing rules and having a different voice than other authors out there. Too many authors sound the same. Just remember that as you do your editing. We don’t have to conform. There’s freedom in individuality. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

